PDA

View Full Version : Toddler mattress help desperately needed

gummibear
05-08-2012, 08:16 AM
Please forgive me for posting this in the lounge - it's a mattress question but not exactly a nursery question.

I desperately need help because I need to buy a crib mattress for our 3yo DS, who has been co-sleeping with us since birth. And, I have zero experience buying a crib mattress; DS has never slept in one. And, our bed is soft since we added a memory foam topper last year. And, DH came across a Cars-themed toddler bed, so now we have a mattress-less red hot rod sitting in our den.

After reading the BB chapter, I'm thinking foam. I checked out all the A-list manufacturers + Sopora + Lullaby Earth. I'm guessing he'll outgrow the toddler bed in 2 years, so I don't want to spend a fortune; on the other hand, my gut feeling is that if we buy a too-firm (aka hard) crib mattress, as much as DS loves Lightning McQueen, the new bed will go unused. And he'll hop back into our soft bed, full-time.

My questions:
Is there such a thing as a soft and firm mattress?
Is it worth it in our case to get the mattresses that have memory foam on one side, since DS is already used to sleeping on memory foam?
Should we be getting a mattress with the 'dual-firmness' feature, or would we be better off picking up an ikea mattress and putting a memory foam (or other material) mattress topper on top?
Has anyone tried the Sopora or Lullaby Earth brands? I've seen people mention Moonlight Slumber and Colgate on the boards. I'm also considering the Naturepedic.

Any mattress recommendations or general thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Many many thanks in advance for any help in getting DS out of our bed!

SnuggleBuggles
05-08-2012, 09:01 AM
For such a short need, I wouldn't splurge. If you have an IKEA near by, just pick one up there. You can always add a quilted mattress pad if softness really is a worry.

bostonsmama
05-08-2012, 09:05 AM