PDA

View Full Version : Will Zantac stop the choking/gagging?

MSWR0319
06-01-2012, 07:58 PM
DS went in for his checkup and they gave us Zantac for his reflux. The gagging/choking,etc is awful. He doesn't spit up a whole lot, but she told me the meds won't stop the spit up. So if they don't stop the spit up, will they help the gagging and choking since that's from it rising up into his throat? I just wasn't sure ow the meds worked. DS1 went straight to Prevacid so I have no experience with Zantac. Also, would it help to buy a Rock-N-Play to keep him elevated? We have a wedge I'm going to put under his mattress but I don't think it's enough of an angle. Maybe with the meds it would be?

flashy09
06-01-2012, 08:13 PM
DS went in for his checkup and they gave us Zantac for his reflux. The gagging/choking,etc is awful. He doesn't spit up a whole lot, but she told me the meds won't stop the spit up. So if they don't stop the spit up, will they help the gagging and choking since that's from it rising up into his throat? I just wasn't sure ow the meds worked. DS1 went straight to Prevacid so I have no experience with Zantac. Also, would it help to buy a Rock-N-Play to keep him elevated? We have a wedge I'm going to put under his mattress but I don't think it's enough of an angle. Maybe with the meds it would be?

I don't know if my baby has reflux, but as I have researched more I am pretty sure she does. Anyway, the Rock N Play made a huge difference to her. The first time I put her in it at 5 weeks old, she pretty much shut her eyes in relief within a minute and slept for 8 hrs!

teo
06-01-2012, 08:45 PM