PDA

View Full Version : Maybe my 12mo just doen't require much sleep????

Serepta
07-01-2012, 07:34 AM
My 12 mo who has been at daycare all school year is now home wit me for the summer (I work in a school and get summers off). At daycare she supposedly takes 1 2 hour nap in the middle of the day. At home... I'm lucky if I get her to nap 20 minutes! I follow the same routine as daycare, and she goes own just fine, but after 20 minutes is wide awake! She's not a great sleeper at night either. But, she's a happy baby who, other than nap time and in the middle of the night almost never fusses and is very active. I really don't know how she has the energy she does, since she sleeps so little! I'm really not a fan of CIO, since my peanut NEVER stops crying (the few times I tried it she cried for over 3 hours, despite me going in and trying to comfort her). Could she just be some sort of strange mutant baby who doesn't need that much sleep?????

Minnifer
07-01-2012, 09:23 AM
Couple of thoughts - all kids have different sleep needs, and divvy them up between day and night sleep differently. I guess she could just be on the low end of the sleep needs spectrum - you can find charts online. My DD never napped well, but slept (and still sleeps) a solid 12 hours at night. My DS needs good naps, but also gets a lot of sleep at night. I also think your daughter is probably wanting to spend the time w/you rather than nap now that she's not in daycare - my DD definitely did better w/naps for our nanny than for me on the weekends. That being said, IME the saying "sleep begets sleep" is definitely true - the more/better sleep my kids get, the better they sleep overall.