PDA

View Full Version : Update in #33: The Logistics of Flying with Kids and Babies?

amldaley
07-03-2012, 09:20 AM
Ok, thanks to much encouragement from you all, I am going HOME!

Can you now help me with the logistics of air travel?

I understand from the other thread that it might be a good idea to check both carseats - and I am cool with that - heck - the less I have to lug around, the better.

DD1 will have her 4th birthday while we are there. I just want to be totally sure that it is safe for her to fly with only a lap belt?

How do I check the car seats? Do I need to get carrier bags for them so they don't get dirty, torn, etc? DD1 is about out of her Blvd and I am planning to get a highback booster for her soon - should I get it before or after the trip? Which would be easier to install with a seatbelt? (I have never done a belt install before).

DD2 will be lap held and I plan on just wearing her in the Beco Butterfly II the whole time. Any reason not to? Is there a carrier anyone thinks might be better? (I have a Connecta I think I could dig out). I am a SSC gal, can't do a wrap.

I plan to nurse DD2 in flight (so the Connecta might be easier to get her in and out of as it is far more simple than the Beco). (And nursing with nipple sheilds and no pillow for support will be interesting but I think I will only have to nurse her once, maybe twice en route and then again at the airport at the other end before I catch the shuttle).

Now, as for strollers....we have a BJCM which I plan on taking and thought I would gate check it so we have access to it for the super tight layover (36 minutes...in Detroit). Thoughts?

What to take on the plane?

My plan is: Leappad, a neck pillow, a stuffed animal, and a sticker book for DD1 plus snacks.
Diaper necessities for DD2 and one small toy that she LOVES.

Any changes or additions?

Have I mentioned I am ridiculously excited to be going home?????????????????????

indigo99
07-03-2012, 09:30 AM