PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy this? Maclaren Quest Mod Apples

citcat53
07-10-2012, 02:52 AM
Hi there,
I am a newbie here. I like strollers, have read a lot in this forum and I am happy to participate! I am from Galicia and we are living in the South of Germany for some years now. I have one little 23months old. We are going home for the summer and plan some excursions and outings. We fly and will have a small car for our stay. Now I am torn if I should bring our big stroller, or if we are fine with a lightweight. I own a Mountain Buggy, which is big for the car. What do you think, is this
a good deal:
http://kleinanzeigen.ebay.de/anzeigen/s-detailansicht.html?adId=69463295

they say it is new and only used twice. they want more or less 135/140$. which is all we could pay anyway for a lightweight. this version is a 2009, right?
is this too much for a 3 year old model even if almost new?
are there important changes in the meantime?
I think it looks really cute.

thanks for helping me making this decision. :)

Multimama
07-10-2012, 09:18 AM
It's very hard to advice you on whether that's a good deal since you're not in the US. In the US you could get a Maclaren Quest brand new for that price if you waited for a deal (and $25 more if you can't wait) so nope, it doesn't seem like that good of a deal. But the market may be very different where you live.

As far as changes, the model you linked has the old hinges and the person has not put the hinge covers on. In the US you actually can't sell a recalled stroller without the recall fix so the seller would have to be able to provide those, but if they can't you can get them yourself from Maclaren. They look unattractive and I prefer the new hinges personally.

Also there is a brand new version of the Quest for 2012 with a deeper recline, better recline mechanism and some other improved features. This may effect resale when you want to sell.

TwoBees
07-10-2012, 09:34 AM
Hi and welcome!