PDA

View Full Version : WWYD - Job Question

BabyBearsMom
07-20-2012, 02:11 PM
I have a great job right now. I work for a great not-for-profit and I really support their mission (I work in Finance so my job isn't mission specific but I like working for someone who I view as the "good guys"). I love where I work, I love my boss, what I do and the people with whom I work. They are really flexible and understanding with my schedule. However, the negative is that the commute is awful. In order to get to DD2 before daycare closes, I have to leave work at 4:30 and since I the daycare doesn't open until 7, the earliest I can get in is 8:15. While everyone is supportive and understanding of this schedule, I still have a certain amount of work that needs to get done and a limited amount of time during the day to do it. I can't work from home because my staff need a lot of hands on attention. This means that I am scrambling during the day to get things done and usually do an hour or so at home after the girls are in bed.

I got a call today from a recruiter. He is looking for someone at my level to work at another not-for-profit. The mission of the not-for-profit is something that doesn't really interest me (I'm not opposed to it, but it just isn't all that exciting to me). The commute would be 20 minutes less each way (my current commute is about 1hr 15) by car and I could take public transportation to it as well if I wanted to. They are also offering to let me work from home a few days a week and have flexible hours. They are offering me a 7% salary increase. The not-for-profit is slightly smaller than my current job and my staff would be smaller as well. The benefits are very good, slightly better than those at my current job.

Would you pursue the new job or stay with what you know?

mommylamb
07-20-2012, 02:13 PM
I think there is nothing wrong with interviewing to see how you feel about the people. I would definitely consider it.

egoldber
07-20-2012, 02:26 PM