PDA

View Full Version : If you were given a big chunk of money right now, how would you invest it?

gatorsmom
08-22-2012, 11:20 AM
I'm trying to find a smart way to invest my dad's inheritence. DH thinks I should invest it in his company but my gut says that feels like putting all my eggs in one basket. I'm trying to make the decisions myself . I'm not good at managing money and DH is a whiz. He keeps telling me to just let him handle it but upon the advice of te wise BBB mans, I'm trying to manage it myself. But I need a little help.

WWYD?

ETA: we do have debt but it is managed debt as DH calls it. So I don't need to pay it down. I'd really just like to put this money into something safe for our retirement because I don't feel we are saving enough in that area.

BillK
08-22-2012, 11:22 AM
Depending on the amount - I think I'd be getting advice from a financial advisor personally.

gatorsmom
08-22-2012, 11:25 AM
Depending on the amount - I think I'd be getting advice from a financial advisor personally.

Oh, I definitely will. It's just that I thought there are some wise and resourceful parents here who might have some ideas I can consider before seeing a planner. The BBB is a wealth of info!

WWYD with the money, Bill?

crl
08-22-2012, 11:25 AM
How is your and Dh's money currently invested? I am NOT an expert at all. But if most of your mowny is tied up in one place, I would try to diversify. do you have any money in the stock market? Any in real estate? If it is a substantial chunk of money, I would try to find a reputable financial advisor to help make a plan for investing it.

Catherine

gatorsmom
08-22-2012, 11:30 AM
How is your and Dh's money currently invested? I am NOT an expert at all. But if most of your mowny is tied up in one place, I would try to diversify. do you have any money in the stock market? Any in real estate? If it is a substantial chunk of money, I would try to find a reputable financial advisor to help make a plan for investing it.