PDA

View Full Version : car seat suggestions for twin preemies

mommyoftwo
09-17-2012, 10:00 PM
I'm 21.5 weeks pregnant with twin girls and due to complications we know they will probably be born at around 34 weeks if not earlier. My girls were quite small (6 lbs) at full term and grew slowly so I expect these babies to be pretty tiny for quite a while. It's been 7 years since Linnea was born so I feel like a complete newbie all over again. We have a 2012 town & country minivan and the plan is to move the girls to the back and put the twins in the middle bucket seats. What are my best bets?

jjordan
09-17-2012, 10:15 PM
The Combi Coccoro is terrific for teeny tinies, but it's not a bucket. There is a Combi stroller frame for it, but I don't know if it fits in any double strollers.

Here (http://carseatblog.com/9813/recommended-carseats-for-preemies-multiples-carseatblogs-list-of-best-bets/) is a list of recommendations for preemies & multiples from carseatblog. Note that although the original entry was from May 2011, the list of recommended seats was updated in July 2012. :)

♥ms.pacman♥
09-17-2012, 10:16 PM
i didn't have twins but for my preemie DD (34-35 weeker) i really liked the Chicco Keyfit 30. I had a relatively new Graco Snugride 22 from my DS but after DD was born and was in the NICU i had DH go out and buy the Chicco Keyfit ...the hospital nurses recommended that one for preemies since it has a lot of built-in support for smaller babies (and keyfit is good for babies 4 lbs and up..i think Snugride they have to be at least 5 lbs)

twowhat?
09-17-2012, 10:41 PM
Mine weren't preemies and did fine in the Snugride but I researched this too, knowing my chances of having preemies was way high and the general consensus is (as PP stated) that the Chicco Keyfit is a great choice.