PDA

View Full Version : Cooking scrambled eggs in stainless steel pan - are they always going to stick?

sewarsh
10-04-2012, 08:59 AM
I got a brand new set of stainless steel pots and pans (Tramontina from Walmart - LOVE them!)

Anyways, I'm new to cooking in stainless steel but am doing pretty well except for scrambled eggs.

Is there a way to cook scrambled eggs in the pan without them sticking? I have the heat on 4/10. If I lower it they seem to take forever and I just don't have that much time to wait around trying to get kids out the door to school.

I've used spray, coconut oil, olive oil too but still some sticking.

Not the biggest deal, just curious and looking for tips.

THanks!

egoldber
10-04-2012, 09:09 AM
I use Pam, but you really do have to use low heat and be patient. I set the pan to preheat and then do other things like pack lunches.

ETA: My eggs never stick.

ahisma
10-04-2012, 09:11 AM
Cast iron was always our go-to pan for eggs.

fedoragirl
10-04-2012, 09:20 AM
I use a wooden spoon and keep scraping while the pan is hot. I immerse it immediately after use in hot water. It still sticks but is easier to get off.

lhafer
10-04-2012, 09:32 AM
I use a well seasoned cast iron skillet when I make scrambled eggs. But when I do use my stainless steel pan, I use some butter in the pan first. It does stick regardless of what I do.

Contrary to normal logic - wash the pan in cold water afterwards! It really helps get the egg off fast.

marie
10-04-2012, 09:39 AM
I heat it on high until it is rippin' hot. Pour in canola oil to cover the bottom of the pan (swirl around). Add eggs. Let the bottom set a bit before scrambling. This results in larger curds, which is my preference, and rarely sticks.

Heating the pan causes metal to expand and close up the microscopic divots in the surface creating a solid surface to cook on. (Someone here linked to an article about this once. . .)

Pear
10-04-2012, 10:37 AM
I add a bit of butter.