PDA

View Full Version : s/o friendship question

blisstwins
10-08-2012, 06:27 PM
I have been grieving for a couple of months the "loss" of the best adult friend I have made since I had children. I don't know what happened, but something happened in the spring.We used to hang out a lot, but she started only seeing us in groups, declining invitations, and canceling often. I was giving it space, though my feelings were hurt, until my daughter cried and said "why does Mary not want to play with me anymore" after a Labor Day cancellation.

I tend to be close and loyal until I feel betrayed, then I judge and dump. It is a very hard way to live and I wish I could handle things differently. Still, the woman has shown what she thinks of our friendship and of my children. Is there a point in saying something and if so, what? I can ask "did I do something to offend" and maybe I will be surprised by the answer. But if she says no, and aside from blowing us off she acts and sounds friendly, what do I say? It feels so juvenile. "You hurt my feelings?" "You make time for everyone but us?"

For the last month I have been declining things with her if the time/dates don't work for us. In the past I always dropped everything when she called because I like her so much. Since realizing she will not extend herself for us, I don't want to do it anymore. And I will not get together with a group. Today she asked me if something was the matter--not with us, with me--and I said I am fine, but we should talk. We were with kids and on the phone. How soon should I call her back?