PDA

View Full Version : Anyone do cross fit?

hillview
10-18-2012, 01:21 PM
I've been doing a bootcamp for almost 2 years. I am considering moving to cross fit. Anyone BTDT? Do you like it? did you get injured or feel you were more likely to get injured?
TIA

wangstar
10-18-2012, 02:11 PM
I've been X-Fit for 1.5 years and I've had the best times!!!
The most important thing about X-fit is FORM; you need to make sure that the box you go to really emphasize on proper form because most injuries occur when you have poor form and try to lift too heavy.

I :heartbeat: X-fit because everyday is different and you don't have to worry about wasting time waiting on machines because the gym is too packed.

At 6.5 months pregger I still x-fit, but at 50% the intensity and only twice a week instead of my pre-preg 4-5 times a week. :43:

brittone2
10-18-2012, 04:47 PM
My very close friend owns a large cross fit gym (erhmmm...."box"). She got into cross fit years ago when it was not as popular. Started with a small gym and grew it into a pretty large gym.

I have considered it, but I am still working on closing my diastasis recti fully. I am not confident my local cross fit gym would understand the limitations that imposes (have to be careful with certain motions, etc. as it could easily be ripped apart again). (eta: I totally know crossfit encourages appropriate scaling and form and all of that...my issue is that I don't get the impression my little rinky dink cross fit box is good about that stuff based on some info I have. My very good friend's gym...I wouldn't hesitate. Too far of a drive for me though).

Way to go!

waitingforgrace
10-18-2012, 04:59 PM
My DH and brother both love it. I'm waiting until DD2 is a year old, just not feasible right now with her nursing and bedtime routine. DH's gym is huge on form and although they push everyone they aren't "pushy" if that makes sense. They want you to do the best YOU can.