PDA

View Full Version : Help! I'm a DW rookie!

iowavb
10-23-2012, 03:45 PM
We are taking a family vacation (myself, husband, and two children, 3 and 6 plus my sister, her husband and 1 y.o., my other sister and her bf, and our parents) to Orlando Dec. 27- Jan. 2. My question is your recommendations on how to go about this!! I am overwhelmed with the trip and don't know where to start!

We are thinking going to Disney for 2 or 3 days max, then going to Sea World for one day. My mom wants to go to Disney on New Years Eve, is that going to be crazy?

Where should we get our tickets? Is there any places that offer discounts? We don't have a Disney CC or anything like that.

What parks should we go to? I know for sure we want to do Magic Kingdom, but other than there any recommendations?

I think we are going to try to find a hotel outside of DW just for cost purposes, but would entertain it if it's totally worth the extra money/hassle for the days that we would be there.

Thanks for any help that you may have to offer!

jjordan
10-23-2012, 09:57 PM
If you're just going to be there for 2-3 days, then I would do one park per day that you're there. That will save you money on tickets, as getting "park hopper" tickets (where you have free range of the parks) are more expensive than single park tickets. Definitely Magic Kingdom for one day. If you're there for 3 days, given the ages of the kids, I'd probably think seriously about doing MK two days. For the other park, Epcot is a good choice, but kids might enjoy the Animal Kingdom more. I probably would not do Hollywood Studios.

It will likely be crazy on New Years' Eve. But, oh well. :)

Get a guide book and it will tell you about stuff before you go so that you can have some idea of what to prioritize. You might be able to find videos of rides on You Tube and gauge your kids' reactions to see what they will want to do.

Read up on FastPass and plan to use it.