PDA

View Full Version : Graco TurboBooster Colorz - reviews? ratings?

Babymakes3
10-29-2012, 11:10 AM
DS is 4 and about to hit 40 lbs. He's in a Britax currently in my car but I found the Graco backless boosters on clearance at Target today with the pads. I can't find much as far as ratings on these seats though. I'm not thinking for my car yet, more for when he is in DH's (this is rare) bc he barely fits in our spare carseat at this point.
At what point would you put your child in a booster like this?

Melaine
10-29-2012, 11:46 AM
I was wondering about these for backup but my girls are 6. I also saw them on clearance!

babystuffbuff
10-29-2012, 03:53 PM
As a CPS tech, I would not recommend a backless booster at four years old. I would do a highback booster at minimum, and preferably still have him in a harness. It is a huge step down in safety from a harness to a backless, and I would not recommend taking that step at that age. Even with a highback booster, he needs to be mature enough to sit back in the seat and not squirm around, not lean forward to reach for a drink or a toy, so the belt stays in the correct position to keep him safe for the entire ride. That can be tricky for a four-year-old (and even a five- or six-year-old!). There are harnessed boosters, such as the Evenflo Maestro, which would keep him in a harness longer and then convert to a booster in a year or two. The Maestro is $70 on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Evenflo-Maestro-Seat-Booster-Adele/dp/B006PB2CQS

Hope that helps!

Babymakes3
10-29-2012, 04:04 PM
Thanks! I knew i'd get a good answer here!

Simon
11-01-2012, 10:31 AM
I was wondering about these for backup but my girls are 6. I also saw them on clearance!