PDA

View Full Version : I am afraid I have turned into THAT mother...

fedoragirl
11-08-2012, 05:27 PM
...the dreaded helicopter mom. And I am not sure how I can stop it or whether I should even try.
Background: I am a former teacher so I am aware of the annoying parents. DD has been in a preschool that I have not been happy with. She has been given space in another preschool (which I really liked) but can't begin till she's 3. DD is 2 months shy of being 3. She is currently with 3-6 year olds because that's how all "kindergartens" in Germany run. I still don't understand why they couldn't keep her in the 2 yr.old group but they told us that she needed to move up in Sept. (4 months before she turns 3). After all my hand wringing, I decided she needed the social and language support there. She attends 2 days a week for about 4 hours.
Things that have bothered me in the last 2 weeks:
1. They are having a walk with hand crafted lamps. DD only attends twice a week. One of the interns handed me the craft materials and said I should make the lantern since DD was not there when the kids made them. This didn't bother me but sort of irked me because I was told by the management that DD cannot attend their preschool daily till she's officially 3. So, how is this my fault? Anyway, this is not a big deal and I didn't say anything about it.
2. DD has a clash with another girl there (about the same age) and they get into things physically. When I have been there for pickup, I have seen A bonk DD on the head, wrench things out of her hand. I am sure that DD is not blameless but she's not into getting physical unless she has to. She is pretty non-confrontational. Anyhow, I didn't want to blame anyone so I told DD's teachers to be on the lookout for such behavior. Their response: oh, it's nothing serious. It's just a little hit here and there. And this is where I became THAT mom. Overreacted?