PDA

View Full Version : How long do you anticipate your (grown) kids to live with you?

joonbug
11-15-2012, 08:20 PM
There have been a couple interesting threads about adult kids living still at home with the parents. I'm interested in hearing what your intake might be in this subject, would it be different if the person in question was your child instead of a stepchild, a brother/sister etc? How was it in your own/SO's situation?
I stayed in my parents home (actually, just mom, they had divorced many years prior) till I was 22. I graduated college with a diploma and moved out and went to conquer the world right after. That was back in Europe where it's pretty common to live with the parents will late 20's or 30's even. I know people who held FT jobs, dated, had their own life but still lived with parents till they got married (my best friend who's in mid 30's just moved back in with her mom but she's had some bad guy situation). I can't imagine coming back 'to the nest' when you're an adult. I had a brief period of time when I moved back in a year after I left but was out permanently 3 months later... My brother lived with mom till he got married.. At 27-28.
DH moved out right after high school (joined military), same his older sister. his two (much) younger brothers, much different story. One got married and moved out only then (he was 34-35 at the time?), the youngest still lives there (he's 35 and doesn't look like he's settling down anytime soon).