PDA

View Full Version : Our first babysitter questions...

Liziz
11-15-2012, 10:09 PM
Well, we have a babysitter coming this weekend -- our first time leaving DD. I'm excited -- I found out one of DD's regular daycare teachers was interested in some occasionally babysitting. DD loves her and I trust her, so it's a win win! But I have a couple silly questions since I've never done this before....

1. She's coming on Saturday from 10-2, so I definitely need to have something available for lunch....what type of food do you usually have available for sitters? Do you have snacks and such around as well? We typically don't really have any junk food in our house (can't handle the temptation!) or snack-type food...

2. Can you give me a ballpark of what you'd expect to pay per hour for one kiddo? We live in Texas. I plan to just ask her, but want to have an idea in advance in case I get the "well, what were you thinking?"

3. Obviously, we'll leave cell phone numbers for both DH and I, and go over where everything is in our house before we leave. Anything else I should do/plan/prepare?

TIA!

123LuckyMom
11-15-2012, 10:39 PM
Honestly, I don't usually have food for sitters. My sitters always have brought their own food and snacks, though I always tell them to help themselves to anything they'd like in the fridge and cupboards. Maybe they don't because we rarely have junk in the house! I don't know. Maybe I'm committing a terrible snafu, but I don't think my friends provide food for their sitters, either.

123LuckyMom
11-15-2012, 10:40 PM
Oh, and the going rate around here (which is far, far away from Texas), is $10-$12/hr. depending on the age/experience of the sitter.

SnuggleBuggles
11-16-2012, 12:01 AM
When I used to babysit, they'd have frozen meals or sandwich stuff for me. We use family for babysitting so no help otherwise.

♥ms.pacman♥
11-16-2012, 12:03 AM