PDA

View Full Version : Help with gravy

niccig
11-18-2012, 04:35 AM
I'm not very good at making gravy. I'm roasting a chicken tomorrow to practice for the turkey on Thursday. Any advice or recipes?

Thanks.
Nicci

mytwosons
11-18-2012, 09:03 AM
After the bird has cooked, pull the rack and bird out of the roasting pan. Put pan over element, add some stock and heat. In a small cup, whisk together cornstarch and cold water. I don't measure...small juice cup, 2-3 heaping tbsps of corn starch. Add the slurry to the hot drippings/stock, whisk and bring to a boil. You can add more slurry to make thicker or thin it with stock. Add salt and pepper to taste. IMO, you need a good amount of salt in gravy.

SnuggleBuggles
11-18-2012, 09:45 AM
If you brine the turkey, don't season the gravy till you taste. Some bribes produce really salty gravies, some are just right, Somd need help. I delegate gravy but pp's method sounds like what I see my MIL do every year and she makes good gravy. :). Buy a box or 2 of extra gravy, just in case (or for leftovers!).

dcmom2b3
11-18-2012, 10:01 AM
Joy of Cooking. I don't eat gravy, but make it for family holiday dinners. JOC recipies and techniques always please my gravy-lovin relatives. Addl tip: if your drippings are fatty, throw a bunch of ice cubes into the pan to congeal the fat, pull fat and unmelted cubes out, proceed as per pp with slurry.

MamaInMarch
11-18-2012, 11:29 AM
My way sounds more complicated, but in action I don't think it is. I pour all my pan drippings into a ziploc bag and hold at an angle with corner pointing into a bowl. Use scissors to poke a hole and allow broth to drain then quickly move bag over pot and allow fat to run into pot. (I put pot on burner, bowl right next to pot.)

Heat fat in pot and add some flour to make a roux, cook a couple of minutes and pour in broth, whisking quickly. It will be as thick as it will get when it comes back up to temp and cooks a minute or so.