PDA

View Full Version : Mentioning you took time to be SAHM in a job interview - WWYD?

Minnifer
11-19-2012, 01:43 PM
Background: I'm a lawyer and lived and worked in the NYC metro area my whole life/career until last year when I finally decided to relocate to be closer to family (having wanted to for a while) and to combine the relocation with staying at home for a while after I had my 2nd kid (something I also wanted to try but as a single mom don't have a lot of options for doing this long-term, and the timing just seemed to make sense). I've been job searching for the past few months and the market for my kind of work in my new area isn't great. It's now been about 1 year since I left my last position.

I've always been taught that the less said about your personal life in an interview, the better, including making no mention of family/kids. The idea being you don't want it to affect how people think you will be able to do your job, etc etc. And obviously employers are prohibited from asking questions touching on this, so in the past when I've been on either side of the table, it rarely comes up.