PDA

View Full Version : Just in case anyone else's kids do this-- my DC's response

California
12-17-2012, 07:17 PM
Self-calming right now via BBB! I have a masters in education, brought art therapy to abused kids, and have worked with children my whole adult life and I still almost completely blew it. In case it happens to anyone else thought I'd share.

DS saw a headline about Sandy Hook today and started asking questions. DDs were there listening. I was able to stay very calm and keep it brief. They asked a few questions and briefly discussed with each other how the 20-year-old must have been very mentally ill to do this.

And then-

Then they got out their stuffed animals and acted out what might have happened during the shooting.

Oh my! All my training flew out the window and I started getting really, really uncomfortable. In the past, I have encouraged kids to use their dolls or puppets to process traumatic events. Not really surprising that my own three would use that technique for this. But- it overwhelmed me. I have so much unresolved grief of my own. Add to that the whole concept of them imagining a shooting... I had to leave the room.

It is completely normal for kids to use imaginary play to work through something that upsets them. So, just an FYI-- if you overhear your kids doing this, it's normal and it can be very healthy. Which I reminded myself about 100 times in a row. Fortunately they only did this for about five minutes and then they were done. Hopefully it helped them work through it. I would not be at all surprised to hear it pop up again, though.

It is also normal for a kid to:
- not seem to care much about it, to seem to be indifferent
- to be mostly interested in themselves and their own safety, especially for little ones
- to need time to think it over and then bring it up again at unexpected times