PDA

View Full Version : How do you feel about year round school?

acmom
01-06-2013, 10:33 PM
The thread about beginning and ending school dates got me thinking about year round school. I have never taught at a school with it and my kids are in a preschool with a traditional sept-June schedule.

If you have experience with year round school as a parent or teacher,how do you feel about it? Which would you prefer given a choice?

crl
01-06-2013, 11:20 PM
I was a student in a year round school for three years in grade school and I loved it.

Catherine

kdeunc
01-06-2013, 11:22 PM
I would LOVE the option. Unfortunately not an option in my county. :(

georgiegirl
01-06-2013, 11:23 PM
I would love it. But it's not an option here.

Nooknookmom
01-06-2013, 11:35 PM
Awful to me. When does a kid get to be a kid and enjoy summer vacation?

Our district has already squeezed it from 3 months to two. It's going to get shorter so I hear.

Not happy about it.

chozen
01-06-2013, 11:37 PM

Our district has already squeezed it from 3 months to two. It's going to get shorter so I hear.

Not happy about it.

i agree! i don't like the idea.

niccig
01-06-2013, 11:43 PM
I grew up in Australia and we had 6 weeks for summer vacation. It always felt like plenty of time to me. I'm sure you get used to what you have. People here are used to longer summer vacation so anything shorter feels wrong.

Pennylane
01-06-2013, 11:49 PM
We had it in NC and I loved it! I think it works well with younger children and I know after 3 weeks of track out my dc were ready to go back to school. I didn't work, so it was not an issue for me, but my friends who did work never had a problem with it. There were tons of camps and different track out activities planned. I loved that we could go to the beach in off season and Disney when it was not crowded.