PDA

View Full Version : What do your kids DO in your backyard?

bisous
01-11-2013, 04:53 PM
Our backyard is neglected in favor of our front, gated, paved courtyard at our house. My kids use the courtyard and its yards of concrete to ride scooters, bikes, roll trucks, etc.

What do your kids use your backyard for? I'm wondering if there is something I can do, grow, or add to make the backyard more appealing. Otherwise, do YOU use your yard for something else?

This is my first experience with a backyard so I'm a real novice.

TIA!

brittone2
01-11-2013, 05:21 PM
BLow bubbles
they tend our 4 little 5x5ft sq foot gardens
we have a simple wooden swingset (3 swings, one slide, was here when we moved here, and since my kids are getting older, we are just keeping the simple one)
run around
play ball
baseball, tee ball, DS1 is probably getting a bounce/pitch back net for his bday
stomp rockets
nature journal/sketching
read on a blanket in the backyard (we have "reading picnics" in nicer weather)
paint and do messy art projects outside (they are usually painting at least 1x a week for our co-op)
sand and water table (DS2 mostly, DD will play too)
sandbox (all 3 will still play with our 7 yo Naturally Playful sandbox. DS1 is mostly over it but will play in there with DS2, and DD still likes it)

eta: have you ever seen books by this author? http://www.amazon.com/Sunflower-Houses-Inspiration-Children-Grown-Ups/dp/0761123865 Could be fun to build them a little sunflower house or similar. http://www.amazon.com/Roots-Shoots-Buckets-Boots-Gardening/dp/0761110569/ref=pd_sim_b_1
Family Fun used to have instructions for a little vinyl lattice playhouse.

Cute stuff here: http://pinterest.com/amy_anderson/outdoor-playspaces/

sariana
01-11-2013, 05:26 PM
Usually? Play in the mud. :-)

BabbyO
01-11-2013, 05:36 PM