PDA

View Full Version : Consignment Sale Help and Pricing

wildfire
02-23-2013, 11:25 PM
I am really ready to purge. There's a huge consignment sale in April that I'd like to target. Tonight I started sorting outgrown clothes into sellable (no stains, holes, etc.) and donate. I've never done this before, and I am unsure on how to price things. I want this out of the house, so most will be marked as donate. At the same time, DH is unemployed so I want to price it so I get as much as I can but keeping it low enough that people want to buy it. I'm trying to get a feel for range of prices.

Can anyone help me by telling me what you would expect to pay for:

a) Carter's onesie or romper
b) Nice Hanna Anderson sweater dress
c) pair of jeans
d) toddler outerwear

Also, where do you get hangers? The website for the sale I'm looking at says department stores give them away, is that true? I can't afford to buy a whole bunch and I have a pretty big pile of clothes to get rid of.

WatchingThemGrow
02-23-2013, 11:59 PM
i get hangers at the drycleaner- for free. I usually use this one and price things on the lower end if I want them gone. http://www.doodlebugsconsignmentsale.com/files/Pricing_Guide.pdf

wildfire
02-24-2013, 12:17 AM
Thanks, that's a very helpful chart! There's a minimum of $3, but I can group things together in outfits and that gives me something to go on.

We have two JBF sales in my area. One is in three weeks and I'm not sure I'd be ready in time, but has no hanger requirements so a drycleaner would work. The other is in late April but requires plastic tubular hangers or department store hangers.

crl
02-24-2013, 12:53 AM
My only advice is to document what you consign. I only tried a consignment sale once (it's a big one that I have seen referenced on here-Dani's Duds) and my entire lot of washed once never worn (long story) HA and Jack and Janie clothes disappeared. And the people running the sale were zero help.

Catherine

mom2binsd
02-24-2013, 05:30 AM