PDA

View Full Version : would you consider not using realtor for buying or selling?

babyonbrain
02-24-2013, 12:02 AM
Why or why not?
another thread got me thinking about what we would do for our next move. We used a realtor for our current home (our first) so we didn't have to directly pay realtor fees , but when we sell, we will.

We are leaning towards just using lawyers and doing buying/selling without an agent. Has anyone done this and regretted it?

Giantbear
02-24-2013, 12:20 AM
i did not use a broker to purchase my home and i used a friend who was an attorney and 'broker' so i could get back the 'purchasers' commission. We were looking in one town specifically and i had done a lot of research on home values in the area. I am also a cpa so negotiation does not scare me. I would recommend it if you can save the fee and are the type who would be comfortable flying alone.

I did sell with a broker, i did not want to be bothered with constant showing and, if you do not use a broker and do not offer the buyers agent a fee, a lot of agents will not push people to buy your home

specialp
02-24-2013, 12:35 AM
We used a realtor to sell ours because I was not excited about showing our house to strangers with me home alone which would've been our only option and I really didn't have much flexible time that I would be available to show our house. Other than that, we would've been fine to go without.

sariana
02-24-2013, 12:37 AM
Well, my ILs are Realtors, so we never pay the commissions, and they always work out a deal with the other agent. So as long as we are in the area, we will use them. When we were out of the area, we used people recommended by them and with whom they had worked out deals. :)

AnnieW625
02-24-2013, 10:51 AM