PDA

View Full Version : Should I give up my unlimited data cell phone plan?

#2ontheway
03-13-2013, 01:32 PM
I need to change my AT&T cell phone plan because I'm exceeding my talk minutes. One option is to switch to a plan with more talk minutes and 16gb of data. My current plan has unlimited data. AT&T no longer offers an unlimited data plan. Apparently I did not even use half of 1gb data in the past six months (per their rep). The rep says it's "almost impossible" to go over and if I did, it's $15 per 1gb of overage.

Will I regret giving up unlimited data? This is just for my iPhone. I don't have an ipad but even if I did, I can't see a scenario where I'd use my AT&T data (I'd use our wireless, right?). I'm a bit of a rookie here so appreciate the advice.

acmom
03-13-2013, 01:38 PM
I have no idea about the numbers of data usage, but I have had AT&T reps tell me several times not to give up my unlimited data plan bc I would never be able to get it back. But if your history of use has you nowhere close to the 16gb you would get and you need more talk minutes, then it seems to make sense for you. Are there no other options of adding more talk minutes without changing the data? We have made several changes to ours (adding hotspot ability for DH, adding unlimited texts, etc.) without effecting my unlimited data.

kdeunc
03-13-2013, 01:43 PM
I have no idea about the numbers of data usage, but I have had AT&T reps tell me several times not to give up my unlimited data plan bc I would never be able to get it back. But if your history of use has you nowhere close to the 16gb you would get and you need more talk minutes, then it seems to make sense for you. Are there no other options of adding more talk minutes without changing the data? We have made several changes to ours (adding hotspot ability for DH, adding unlimited texts, etc.) without effecting my unlimited data.