PDA

View Full Version : Do you negotiate price on Craiglist?

Hemlock
03-15-2013, 03:13 PM
I have been thinking of getting a Tripp Trapp chair. I found one nearby with a baby set and cushion. It is only 1 month old. The seller purchased it and it does not fit at her dining table due to some type of ledge on her table. Anyway, she is asking $300. In Canada the Tripp Trapp is $300, the baby set is $70 and the cushion is $50 (plus 13%tax on everything)(plus shipping). Would you offer less?

If you do negotiate, do you ask "would you consider $x amount? I am not very good at this type if thing.

KHF
03-15-2013, 03:18 PM
I would if the seller didn't say the price was firm and if I thought they were asking too much. If something is priced fairly, I don't haggle.

I sell on CL and I usually don't even respond to people when they lowball me when I say the price is firm. A couple of weeks ago I had someone offer me $50 for a brand new LeapPad2 with 2 games, carry case and a gel skin. I was asking $85 and stated price was firm...and she offered it 5 minutes after I posted it! I just deleted her email.

waitingforgrace
03-15-2013, 03:18 PM
Yes I do. I just ask if they will take x amount. For instance "I'm very interested in the Tripp Trapp. Would you be willing to take $270? I can pick up tomorrow..."

As for what it's worth that's totally up to you on what you want to spend. I would probably try to get it a little less than $300, but that's just me. You have to decide how much you want it. I don't think the price is unreasonable if it's really that new.

Mommy_Mea
03-15-2013, 03:19 PM
Depends. I typically offer full price if I think it is reasonable or really really want it (ie, not worth losing it over a few $$).