PDA

View Full Version : Another drop cable thread...please

trcy
03-19-2013, 07:56 PM
Please help me ditch cable. I am not tech savvy at all but I figure there has got to be an easy and cheap way to do this. Mostly we watch HGTV & Food Network. DD likes the Mickey clubhouse on Disney Junior. Modern Family is my only much watch. Any advise would be greatly appreciated & please dumb it down for me :)

elbenn
03-19-2013, 08:12 PM
Get a Roku. http://www.amazon.com/Roku-XS-1080p-Streaming-Player/dp/B005CLPP84/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363738080&sr=8-1&keywords=roku

Subscribe to Huluplus for $8/month. There are several design and food shows available, including Bang for your Buck, Anthony Bourdain's No Reservations, Designing Spaces, Design on a Dime, Paula's Home Cooking, etc. You can search on hulu.com for the shows that are available. You can get Modern Family on Huluplus.

Subscribe to Netflix for $8/month. There are many, many shows available, including many cartoons and many tv shows.

KrystalS
03-20-2013, 09:40 AM
I would love to drop cable but my DH won't do it. He likes the convenience of DVR. If you have a computer with an HDMI hook up you can connect to your tv and watch lots of shows that way. Almost all the networks put their shows online, ABC does for sure. We have Netflix for kids shows, there is only 1 Mickey Mouse episodes but I'm hoping they add more eventually, DS loves MM. But on Netflix he will settle for Backyardigans, Dora & Diego. Check out Hulu before you buy and see if they have shows you will watch, I looked into it and they didn't show much that we watch, but I know others love it. You will probably not be able to see most shows from HGTV and the Food network. I love HGTV, would have a hard time giving it up!

Philoscript
03-20-2013, 09:45 AM
We dropped cable a while ago now and I found some of the reruns from HGTV, such as Clean House and other Hoarding type shows. I haven't really explored to see if there were more yet.