PDA

View Full Version : Cast Iron pans and glass/flat cooktops?

mikala
04-19-2013, 05:09 PM
Are they okay or a no-no? In some of the cast iron pan threads people have mentioned that this may be a bad combo but I've never heard the rationale for why. Is it a concern about bare cast iron scratching the glass or something else? I'd like to cook with cast iron more to help boost our iron levels and avoid non-stick coatings but I don't want to ruin our stove in the process.

Thanks!!

abh5e8
04-19-2013, 07:00 PM
i use my 2 cast iron skillets on a glass top stove....have been for about 5 months now and so far no problems. i say go for it!

cckwmh
04-19-2013, 07:36 PM
I have been doing it for about 3 years, maybe more. The key per the salesperson at le crueset is to heat the pan very slowly and never turn the stove past medium. I spend about 10 minutes slowly preheating.

mikala
04-19-2013, 10:23 PM
Thanks! Are you both using standard/exposed cast iron or enameled?

Mommy_Mea
04-19-2013, 10:47 PM
My understanding is that the rough surface (the Burrs) on the cast iron can scratch the surface and cause it to crack. Also, the ridged bottom of many cast iron pans can trap moisture or unevenly heat air, leading to cracking of the surface (because the glass is expanding at different rates).

Many cooks just say to never drag the pan across the cook top, and you will be fine. Or get an enameled cast iron pan.

mikala
04-19-2013, 11:16 PM
My understanding is that the rough surface (the Burrs) on the cast iron can scratch the surface and cause it to crack. Also, the ridged bottom of many cast iron pans can trap moisture or unevenly heat air, leading to cracking of the surface (because the glass is expanding at different rates).

Many cooks just say to never drag the pan across the cook top, and you will be fine. Or get an enameled cast iron pan.
Thanks for the explanation. This makes sense to me.