PDA

View Full Version : Updated: Quick help - Diva Cup questions - TMI alert

firstbaby
04-23-2013, 08:06 AM
The race went fantastic and AF didn't start until after the race- a total shocker! I set a PR and took 14 minutes off my last half, so I'm very happy :). Thank you for all the advice. The cup arrived Thursday and I'm going to give it a try this cycle :)

I have a half marathon coming up on Saturday and despite my best planning, it looks like AF will arrive sometime before the race. I just ordered the Diva Cup to try and circumvent needing to stop on the course for a quick change, but I'm nervous because I've never used it before. Can you all help me with some questions:

How much of a learning curve is there to using it?

Has anyone run a longer distance with one on a heavy flow day? Usually on the first few days, I need to change every hour and a half to two hours and will wear a tampon and pad just in case.

If you are a runner and have used it, do you notice it while running?

Any other tips or advice?

I am just beside myself. My cycles have been sooo regular and I picked this race specifically because it should have been 9+ days after AF would start, but looks like my body has other ideas. I had a bad race last spring when I needed to make a long stop dealing with AF and it was hard for me emotionally when my months of training didn't pay off. Really hoping the Diva Cup is the answer! TIA!

wellyes
04-23-2013, 09:03 AM
As long as it isnt' your first day using it, I'm sure you'll have it figured out by then. It's pretty easy to use.

But, I don't think you can use a tampon and a diva cup comfortably together at the same time. They occupy the same space. You can make the cup slightly shorter without impacting function by wearing it inside-out, but, I don't know if that is a good idea with a heavier flow, because the lip to prevent spilling is designed to be used right-side-out.