PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone tell me about grant writing?

Melaine
04-24-2013, 01:17 PM
Exploring potential job opportunity. I know little about grants but I'm a fast and proficient writer. This would actually be for an organization that I have interest in. But again, I know nothing about the job...can anyone provide any info on the field? Thank you!

AnnieW625
04-24-2013, 01:24 PM
I would look at taking some extension classes at your local community college or university. I would call the local Chamber of Commerce and see if they can rec. a class or workshop on them.

I am involved in my local Junior League and have gotten some wonderful grant writing training there. I was actually chair of the committee in 2011-2012. I wrote a grant that was valued at $5,000 for our league.

Have you volunteered with the organization of interest? If so that might be a place to start.

Good luck!

Melaine
04-24-2013, 01:32 PM
I would look at taking some extension classes at your local community college or university. I would call the local Chamber of Commerce and see if they can rec. a class or workshop on them.

I am involved in my local Junior League and have gotten some wonderful grant writing training there. I was actually chair of the committee in 2011-2012. I wrote a grant that was valued at $5,000 for our league.

Have you volunteered with the organization of interest? If so that might be a place to start.

Good luck!

Thanks Annie....great ideas!

hellokitty
04-24-2013, 01:39 PM
Check your community library. Outs regularly offers grant writing classes. There is also a local non-profit that specifically helps women to write grants for women related programs and project. Your local chamber of commerce could probably help to point you in the right direction.

AnnieW625
04-24-2013, 01:59 PM
Thanks Annie....great ideas!