PDA

View Full Version : Long shot: anyone has been in Copenhagen?

Avispa
04-24-2013, 11:54 PM
I'm considering taking a job in Copenhagen and we would be moving (DH, DD1, DD2, and myself) for a few years there. I'm looking for any information regarding cost of life, rent, daycare, preschool (DD1 is 4 and DD2 is 2), health care, and that sort of things.

So, anyone has been there for more than a few days? :D

Thank you!

mom2binsd
04-25-2013, 01:05 AM
I lived there for a year (I was an exchange student), but I still keep in touch with my of my friends and "family". I have been back once and can't wait to visit again.

It is AWESOME!!!!

It is very family friendly and your children would learn to speak Danish very quickly. Preschool/daycare is amazing, and very affordable. Schools are excellent. The Danes have one of the best "quality of life". Like many Scandanavian countries it is expensive, but salaries tend to be higher.

Unless things have changed, they have universal healthcare for everyone. As an exchange student I even got amazing benefits (broke my leg on a ski trip and the school set up taxi service to take me to and from school as I normally rode my bike). Other exchange students had braces put on while they were there as it was covered.

Taxes are very high, and cars/gas is expensive. People use public transportation much more and it runs very well.

If you were to live in Copehagen proper there are many wonderful neighborhoods, most accessible by the S train and connects to an expansive bus system.

I loved living in Lyngby, and Hillerod is lovely. But there are so many great places to live.

It's proximity to so much of Europe and Scandanavia make it easy to go on quick trips just about anywhere.

I would jump at the chance with a young family to experience life there.

Almost everyone there speaks English, the Danes learn German in school as well and they tend to speak many languages.