PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone severely purged their closet?

minnie-zb
04-25-2013, 10:50 AM
I enjoy buying new clothes, but I don't always make wise decisions. I'm really working on this, but it is a process and doesn't happen overnight. I'm in the process of transitioning my wardrobe and packing up my fall/winter clothes to pull out summer. I'm one of these people who has plenty of clothes but I either wear the same things again and again or I can't find anything I want to wear. I'm not very good at being a stylist -- another skill I'm trying to improve.

I weeded out several pieces to donate from the winter stuff -- I'm pretty much removing all of the items I didn't wear this year.

Sooo, now it is time to pull out my summer stuff and I'm contemplating doing a harsh purge. I have a lot of t-shirts which are okay and wearable, but don't get much love and I think I want to really pare them down and maybe keep only 14 t-shirts. Why do I need more? I'm also hoping if I can thin my wardrobe maybe I will be better about wearing more of the items I like vs. wearing the same things over and over. Does that make sense?

Thoughts? Tips? Want to purge together? :D

lizzywednesday
04-25-2013, 11:06 AM
It seems like every time I purge my closet it's a "scorched earth" purge.

DH thinks it's stupid, but, frankly, I don't have the space to continue to store all the event tees and too-small tops/dresses, etc., that I have hanging in my closets or folded in my drawers.

wendibird22
04-25-2013, 11:10 AM
This blog has changed the way I view my wardrobe. http://www.puttingmetogether.com

She has a section on building a wardrobe from scratch and also on making a remix able wardrobe. I'm amazed at home much I've been able to shop my closet and I hardly ever wear the same thing twice (and if I do it's like months apart).

Melaine
04-25-2013, 11:16 AM
This blog has changed the way I view my wardrobe. http://www.puttingmetogether.com