PDA

View Full Version : Recommend your DSLR

HonoluluMom
05-22-2013, 09:02 PM
I'm considering buying a DSLR and after a bit of research I think perhaps the Canon EOS Rebel SL1 may be a good option for me. It's size is a huge attraction for me.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Rebel-18-0-Digital-18-55mm/dp/B00BW6LY2Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369269883&sr=8-1&keywords=canon+rebel+eos+sl1

If you have this camera, would you recommend it?

Otherwise, please recommend your DSLR!

I'm not very tech savvy and need something that's very easy to use (I have no clue what all the different modes/features/buttons are on my point and shoot or digital camcorder). I would use the camera primarily to take pictures of DD and family events.

sarahsthreads
05-22-2013, 09:40 PM
OK, I did *not* need to see that newer, lighter model. Sigh.

I love my Canon T2i. And even more, I love the 50mm/f1.8 (http://www.amazon.com/Canon-50mm-1-8-Camera-Lens/dp/B00007E7JU) and 40mm/f2.8 (http://www.amazon.com/Canon-40mm-2-8-STM-Lens/dp/B00894YP00) prime lenses I bought for it. The kit lens is OK, but not great. I don't even bother carrying it around anymore - I typically keep the 40mm lens on my camera, toss the 50mm lens in my bag if we're mainly going to be outdoors, and use my feet to zoom in and out. ;)

If you put it on Auto mode (the green box) it does pretty well, but I highly encourage you to branch out a bit and learn about aperture and shutter speed and at least experiment with some of the more manual modes.

ETA: I forgot to say, one of the things I love most about those prime lenses is how fast they are. I very, very rarely bother to use a flash indoors unless it's nighttime or the darkest of winter months.

Sarah :)

elbenn
05-22-2013, 09:43 PM
I find Ken Rockwell's website super helpful for information on DSLRs.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/

gamma
05-23-2013, 12:15 PM