PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for high school grad. gift for a girl

JustMe
05-26-2013, 01:06 PM
Our neighbor (actually they have just moved out of the neighborhood after 10 years) is graduating from high school. She is a lovely, brilliant, sweet girl. I ran into her and she said she was figuring out her graduation tickets and that she wanted to invite me. (I don't think this will work out on either our our parts--she has a large family, but its the thought that counts). My family is invited to her graduation party that weekend. She is pre-med and going to an "away" college.

Ideas? The only things I can think of are a gc to either Barnes and Noble, Bed, Bath, and Beyond, or Target.

elbenn
05-26-2013, 01:21 PM
Other options would be a gift card to her college bookstore or a compact umbrella.

ncat
05-26-2013, 01:28 PM
Cash and gift cards would probably be very appreciated. That said, I still have (and use) two high school graduation presents - I graduated over 20 years ago! One is a hot air popcorn popper, that a neighbor gave me. The other is an afghan/throw blanket that my grandmother had someone knit for me.

If you know where she is going to college, something in school colors might be nice. You could also get her some nice books related to medicine/biology. This is recent and supposed to be good - http://www.amazon.com/The-Violinists-Thumb-Written-Genetic/dp/0316182311/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0 I have this, and think it might make a good gift for a young woman entering college - http://www.amazon.com/Ask-Women-Power-Negotiation-Really/dp/0553384554/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1369588987&sr=1-2&keywords=ask+for+it

MommytoEliana
05-26-2013, 01:35 PM
Gift cards or cash are always appreciated, in my experience. If you want to go a more personal route, a large utility tote from Thirty-One in her school colors with her name on it, with some laundry soap and a roll of quarters, would be a fun gift!

larig
05-26-2013, 01:48 PM