PDA

View Full Version : Playset- Can it sit on the grass?

mackmama
07-18-2013, 12:44 PM
We just moved and would like to get a playset for 3yo DC. Given our yard, the only option is to put it on grass. Can a playset sit on grass? (We would not be removing the grass or putting down mulch or other surfaces under the playset.) For those who have playsets on grass - does the grass just die under the playset? How do you water the surrounding grass since sprinklers will most likely get the playset wet? Do you just not worry about it - or is it better not to get a wooden playset? Thanks - I'm totally new to playsets!

lhafer
07-18-2013, 12:57 PM
Mine sits on the grass. I marked where the sprinklers were and didn't set the playset on them, so they still all function. I have a sandbox option under the fort of ours. I put a weed barrier mesh down on top of the grass, then put mulch in there and did a little plastic kiddy pool sand box in that area (so they entire thing isn't sand). I also got a mesh cover for the sandbox part. There are track marks where the swings are. Otherwise, the grass is normal.

Momit
07-18-2013, 01:16 PM
We don't have one but all of our friends who do have them on grass. I would worry about sprinklers other than puncturing one of your lines during the installation or placing it directly over a head.

Philly Mom
07-18-2013, 01:17 PM
We actually removed the mulch and put down grass and are having our wooden playset installed in a couple weeks like that. Our neighbors all use grass and I grew up with a playset on grass. The grass does not die so mowing is a bit annoying. Playsets are meant to get wet and the wood is prepared as such.

wellyes
07-18-2013, 02:11 PM
The only concern I'd have is installing it in such a way that it won't tip.

Indianamom2
07-18-2013, 03:55 PM