PDA

View Full Version : help beatng horrific diaper rash

lmh2402
09-05-2013, 10:16 PM
DD has been sore for literally over three months

horribly, horribly red. not open sores, just extremely raw looking skin

no raised bumps that i see

so i'm thinking, not yeast...right?

i've been using triple paste, aquaphor and maalox for two months. at times it gets a bit better, but never totally clears. and right now it's really bad again.

we NEVER let her sit in a dirty diaper. i let her air out a few times a day

i'm at a loss

please give me some tips

thx

BunnyBee
09-05-2013, 10:23 PM
Have you tried switching diapers?

Calmoseptine is what my ped recommends. I've used it on myself and it's amazing. I got samples from her and ordered tubes on amazon.

Does she take probiotics? Does it clear with dietary changes?

MamaMolly
09-05-2013, 10:23 PM
I wonder if it something fungal? Has your ped seen it? ETA: Oh I hadn't thought of switching dipes, but Lula could never tolerate Pampers brand.

ArizonaGirl
09-05-2013, 10:25 PM
I agree not yeast.

I know that this may not be popular, but for both DS when he was in dipes and for DD now a little pure cornstarch prior to Aquaphor or Desitin really helps.

It is great, because it dries the moisture out on her skin and then when you put the moisture barrier on (Aquaphor, Desitin, Triple Paste, etc.) you are locking the new moisture from the urine out and not keeping her moist bum moist, if that makes any sense.

HTH

westwoodmom04
09-05-2013, 10:30 PM
We use to use a little hydrocortisone when a rash got really bad. Usually clears it up within a day or two.

abh5e8
09-05-2013, 10:34 PM
hmm...i agree with trying a new brand of diapers. how much to you let her skin air out? that always clears up the red bums around here. sometimes food sensitivities can cause the redness as well. nuts, i know will do that.

petesgirl
09-05-2013, 10:34 PM