PDA

View Full Version : Interviewing baby sitters

bnme
09-06-2013, 06:22 AM
We just placed an ad on Care.com for a sitter to come every day from 7-9am and put the kids on the bus. Believe it or not, this is my first time ever hiring a babysitter!
I have 7 messages already. Do you usually respond to all of them? For example, one person lives about 15 miles away and to me it just seems to far to travel for a 2 hour job that is going to be paying $20-25. Another does not really say much, nor does the profile. The others I am drawn to because of their profile or what they wrote in the message to me.

Do you usually do the interview at your house or meet them somewhere? Do I have to be cautious of it being some whacko casing the place? When do you check their references/background?

I was a SAHM for 8 years. went back to work FT 2 years ago but the kids were in before and aftercare at a center. Now my oldest is going into 5th grade and thats middle school in our district so the centers stop taking them. I am so nervous about this - any advice appreciated!

hopeful_mama
09-06-2013, 06:55 AM