PDA

View Full Version : Calling allergy/asthma parents

citymama
09-09-2013, 05:51 PM
I've suspected this for a while, but today our pediatrician confirmed that 3 year old DD2 most likely has asthma. Every small cold turns into a wheezy night, every cough turns into croup and labored breathing. Last night she was wheezing and coughing pretty badly after a routine cold, and we were this close to taking her to the ER. We took DD in to the ped today and she responded well to the nebulizer treatment, and we've borrowed the nebulizer for the rest of the week and DH is out getting an inhaler and spacer for her.

Although I have asthma myself, I'm new to this as a parent. Does your toddler or 3 year old willingly take the inhaler with the spacer? How often do you find yourself using it? Any tips or warnings? DD2 was super wound up after the nebulizer treatment and her heart rate was up like crazy.

What helps your kid - in the short and long term? Any night-time relief suggestions? Are there boards you frequent for asthma/allergy advice?

And anyone here have a food allergic kid who has asthma? DD2 is allergic to tree nuts, but we dxed it at an early age (before 1) and have been able to avoid exposure thus far. I'm now worrying about what would happen in the event of exposure - does her having asthma make her more likely to have respiratory distress? I have air-borne allergies that trigger my asthma, but no food allergies.

Thanks for reading and any advice you may have to share.

megs4413
09-09-2013, 06:13 PM
Does your toddler or 3 year old willingly take the inhaler with the spacer?

Mine always did. No idea why, so no help on getting a kid to use it.

How often do you find yourself using it?
when asthma is well-controlled and DD is not sick, we use it very, very rarely (less than once/month). when we were still adjusting meds and such, probably once a week.

Any tips or warnings?