PDA

View Full Version : DC's sick and supposed to start preschool tomorrow

mackmama
09-09-2013, 07:33 PM
DC's first day of preschool is tomorrow. DC has a pretty bad cold (was acting 'off' on Saturday, then congested and coughing/sneezing yesterday, and today has a really runny nose (green/yellow) and a little cough). No fever on any of the days. I'm so bummed at the timing and don't want to get anyone else sick by bringing DC to school tomorrow - but I also really don't want DC to miss the first day. Tomorrow is a special day where parents attend and stay with the kids to help ease their transition. I don't want to miss tomorrow because I think DC will really need that transition time with me there. (I'm already on the fence about DC going to preschool this year at 2.5yo so really want DC to have all of the transition assistance possible). DC's energy is normal and is eating and playing normally. What would you all do -- go tomorrow or stay home? I'm new to the school game so not clear on what's ok.

JustMe
09-09-2013, 07:37 PM
If your dc is behaving normally and eating normally, it is a close call. If it really seems to be just a cold, I might want to do it anyway. OTOH, if you have nothing to lose by waiting until dc feels better why not (I know, you knew all this already). I guess I would call the school and find out if it is okay for you to do your "transition day" the next day (or whenever dc is ready to start) or if that can only occur on the school's official first day (I sure would hope it would be the first of these).

AngB
09-09-2013, 07:41 PM
Go. Runny noses and colds are typical in preschool, if he didn't already have one, he'd probably get one after the first day or two anyway.

SnuggleBuggles
09-09-2013, 07:45 PM
Go. Runny noses and colds are typical in preschool, if he didn't already have one, he'd probably get one after the first day or two anyway.