PDA

View Full Version : s/o lasering: review of Bella Lite home laser

ShanaMama
11-17-2013, 03:05 AM
There was a thread a couple of days ago about pain tolerance wrt laser hair removal & I mentioned that I had just gotten the Bella Lite. Instead of finding & hijacking that thread I figured I'd start a new one to share my experience.

I've only used the Bella Lite once & I've been lasering every 6 weeks for the past 6 months or so. I would compare the two to the difference between getting your nails done in a salon vs. painting your own nails at home. Technically it's the same service but the experience is different & the outcome is not exactly the same.

I will say that my face looked like I lost 5 lbs after I lasered my chin, sideburns & lip with the Bella Lite. So it definitely worked. I don't think there was much of a learning curve. I did bikini first, then face, then underarm which I found to be easiest. It refused to hit a few places on my face- either the hair was too light or I wasn't holding it properly. When I look in the mirror I see missed areas which annoys me. I need to ask a good friend if it's really noticeable or I'm just seeing it because I'm looking for it.

The main difference that I found was that the Bella Lite is a largish handheld thing that seems to emit a flash of laser every time you push the button. So it's frying whatever area you hold it over, it's not targeting particular hairs. Although I don't watch while the woman lasers me, it always feels like the laser actually zaps the hairs only. It feels more targeted. Also, her machine is constantly blasting ice cold air which counteracts the heat of the laser. The Bella Lite does not do that. Next time I'd like to point a fan at myself while I laser.