PDA

View Full Version : Canker Sores

DietCokeLover
12-17-2013, 12:43 AM
I have lived over 40 years without a canker sore, and in the last 6 months, I have had them twice and now feel like I am getting them again. I can't figure out why this is happening or how to make it stop. Anyone know anything?

jam224
12-17-2013, 01:02 AM
I tend to get them during times of stress. My remedy is using alum powder on the canker sore. It stings when applying it, but it definitely makes it heal faster.

♥ms.pacman♥
12-17-2013, 01:08 AM
i only get them when i'm really stressed..e.g. dh traveling &no time to exercise, less sleep, etc. i've gotten them all my life though (since i was a teen). as a student i would always get them during finals.

what helped me is zilactin or whatever it's called, but it burns like heck when you first put it on

KpbS
12-17-2013, 02:35 AM
Anti-tartar toothpastes or whitening toothpastes can cause and aggravate mouth sores due to their abrasive ingredients. I've found that flossing 2x-3x per day (gently) can help canker sores go away faster.

BunnyBee
12-17-2013, 02:58 AM
Toothpastes with SLS can cause or exacerbate them. I bought a toothpaste just for canker sores on amazon called Squigle, then just avoided any with SLS once they were gone. You can swish with Maalox which will coat them and help a little if you don't have Zilactin in the house.

ba_mom
12-17-2013, 03:26 AM
I've had them all my life as well and nothing has really helped for me. Sometimes it's so painful that I tear up when I try to eat. What is worse is when I have a meeting and I can barely talk. I get them when stressed (and who isn't stressed?), hormonal changes, and when there are lacerations inside my mouth (from eating nuts, chips, etc). My whole family gets them except my dad. I've tried prescription, otc meds and really nothing helps except time. It sucks!

Melaine
12-17-2013, 08:19 AM