PDA

View Full Version : Single Mom and Preschooler to WDW

AshleyAnn
02-02-2014, 11:24 AM
I really want to take DD (age 4) to Disney World this summer/fall. I know I'm a bit late in planning by Disneyaholic standards but I'm a newbie.

I'm about 8 hours from Disney and a seasoned road tripper so I'll probably drive down for an extended weekend unless I can score super cheat flights.

We'll be going just her and I. Has anyone done Disney as a single parent? We've traveled quite a bit just her and I so it wont be our first adventure but I'm nervous as its DISNEY. I havent ever been to disney world myself so i feel like im going to a forgien country. Suggestions?

I'm also on a budget so tips for that would be appreciated!

TwinFoxes
02-02-2014, 03:21 PM
In a way I think it could almost be easier with the two of you. Only two people's needs to worry about, you know? I think you will have a blast.

My strong recommendation is to buy "The Unofficial Guide to WDW". It will really help with planning.

if you don't mind staying off property, you might want to look into the Wyndham Bonnet Creek. It is very close to Epcot, DHS and Downtown Disney, closer than some "on property" hotels. I booked through Vacation Strategies. 10 days in a presidential 1 bedroom was around $1100!

Also, if you haven't yet, register on Disney.com and request the planning CD. They sometimes send out pin codes for great deals.

Have fun! You have plenty of planning time BTW.

Cam&Clay
02-02-2014, 03:26 PM
I took DS1 when he was 5 the summer before Kindergarten. I was a single mom at the time. We had a blast! We stayed at Pop Century for 6 nights. I had planned too much for us to do and we ended up taking one day to do nothing but hang by the pool and shop at Downtown Disney.

I wouldn't hesitate to go. You will have a ball!

123LuckyMom
02-02-2014, 07:31 PM