PDA

View Full Version : Open presents at the party or not?

mjs64
02-07-2014, 01:50 PM
I'm new to my area (East Bay, SF) and don't know what the norm is. I also have only 1 DC so don't have a lot of experience yet with kids' bday parties. We went to one last weekend at Chuck E Cheese, and they didn't open presents (3 yo bday). My DS, the whole time, kept getting his gift (the one we picked) off the gift table and bringing it to the birthday girl. He really wanted her to open it! So cute, but I guess they'd decided not to open presents; just packed them up. Makes sense when you consider toddler attention spans--it must be hard to watch another kid open presents?

So I'm asking, simply, what's your preference: open gifts at the party or not? I'm not asking what's the norm in your area, I'm asking about your personal preference, though feel free to comment on the norm.

I kind of wish they'd opened them, but no big deal. Asking cause DS is having a party this Sunday.

BabyBearsMom
02-07-2014, 01:53 PM
We have probably been to close to 20 birthday parties over the past year and gifts were only opened at 1. I think I prefer not opening gifts at parties. 1) I think it isn't fair to expect really young kids to sit there and watch another kid open presents for a long period of time; 2) It avoids the awkward moment of the birthday child opening something and saying something not so polite since we all know that young kids are warrant to do that. We will not be opening presents at the girls' birthday party.

egoldber
02-07-2014, 01:57 PM
For that age group, especially in the large party venues, I prefer not. I think it's too chaotic and no one really enjoys it.

IME, as the kids get older, and the parties get smaller, they do open gifts and it is part of the fun.

California
02-07-2014, 02:01 PM