PDA

View Full Version : Help me with job offer/package negotiation

iaam
04-07-2014, 04:56 PM
As I mentioned in my other thread (on life in/around LA), I have an offer for a great role at a great company. They are now working on the official offer/package. Here is the information they have asked for/already know and my high-level thoughts. I would love any advice that you may have to help ensure that I negotiate well for myself (something I am NOT good at)!

1. Know (provided by me verbally): current base salary, long-term (restricted stock) and short-term (cash bonus) information
2. Asked for: stock/restricted stock units excercisable in the next 12 months
(a) per my company's plan, the restricted stock units I am awarded vest in 3 years, so I want to try to get them to make me whole for more than just 12 months - any tips on how to approach this?
3. Asked for: anything else I would be leaving on the table, e.g., unpaid bonus
(a) I would get a prorated bonus from the new company for the months that I work for them, so the way I see it, I would essentially be leaving the remainder of the year's bonus on the table - would you agree?
(b) anything else that I should consider in this calculation?
4. Previously asked for: what it would take to get me to move
(a) I told them that I don't have a specific number in my head but that they would have to entice me to move from NJ, where we have deep roots - any general advice for how to think about this/negotiate?

Thanks for any help/thoughts that you can share - I truly appreciate it!

ETA: They will be paying for movers, house hunting trip and pre-decision area trip, tempory housing if needed, etc. I meant the actual salary+ package.

lkoala
04-07-2014, 05:21 PM
I think I would ask for moving expenses and even temporary housing until you gauge where you want to live in the LA area.

westwoodmom04
04-07-2014, 05:37 PM