PDA

View Full Version : eBay questions

DietCokeLover
04-16-2014, 10:40 AM
I am a complete newbie at eBay. Never bought or sold on there. If I have some items I would like to try and sell, do I need to have a oaypal account in order to safely receive payment? Also, does eBay take a commission?

Anything else I should know that I don't even know to ask?

sidmand
04-16-2014, 12:20 PM
eBay takes about 10%. I *think* you have to have a PayPal account? At the very least it's SO much easier for everyone if you do! But PayPal takes a commission too and shipping costs too. Expect it'll cost at least 15% of the purchase price in fees. Make sure shipping costs cover how much shipping will be. I ended up paying people to buy stuff on occasion(!). Also, unless the transaction is @ $10 it's probably not worth it so combine items if you need to.

sidmand
04-16-2014, 12:22 PM
FWIW, I try never to buy from someone without feedback. If you can buy a couple of small items and get some positive feedback, I think that would help. There are many scammers and I would be afraid to buy from someone brand new unless it was a great deal and I was willing to risk it.

Binkandabee
04-16-2014, 12:30 PM
You do have to offer at least one electronic form of payment, but it doesn't have to be paypal. I've always used paypal, so don't know a thing about any of the others offered. I think you can offer payment in person if the buyer is going to pick the item up. Ebay takes about 10% and paypal takes anther 4% approximately.