PDA

View Full Version : Does DC need a precavity filled?

daisyd
04-29-2014, 12:03 PM
DS1 is 5.5 years old and has had a precavity for about a year now. At his last visit the dentist had an Xray taken and she felt that the tooth needed to be filled. I've always thought that kids this young lost their teeth and then the healthy permanent teeth grow. He's not in any pain right now and the tooth in question looks like it used to. I'm no expert though. Does DC really need to have this tooth filled? Please share your experience. Thanks.

Katigre
04-29-2014, 01:06 PM
I would ask for "watchful waiting" and not fill it until/unless the cavity progresses.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

daisyd
04-29-2014, 07:42 PM
Thanks Katigre.

smilequeen
04-29-2014, 07:58 PM
IDK, it kind of sounds like your dentist has already been watching it and now thinks it needs to be done. I would do it. Why watch it get bigger? It gets bigger and more of his tooth needs to be taken away. It's gets bigger and you have a bigger filling. I never did a lot of watching. If it's a cavity, it's a cavity. The only way I'd watch is if it was questionable whether it was a cavity or not. If it's a back tooth, it will be there for a while. Once cavities start growing in primary teeth, they can grow fast. Don't wait for it to hurt. By then it will be too late (and why would you want your child to have a toothache?)

daisyd
04-29-2014, 09:12 PM