PDA

View Full Version : Cast Iron Skillet Seasoning Question

Indianamom2
04-30-2014, 05:15 PM
I bought a 12 inch Lodge brand cast iron skillet. It is supposed to be pre-seasoned, but I noticed in some reviews that some people still seasoned theirs. I'm a complete cast iron novice....do I use as is, or do I season it myself somehow also...oh and what method do you recommend to season it if I need to?

Thanks!

lhafer
04-30-2014, 06:51 PM
I don't know what others did to season theirs but I have several of the same skillet. I didn't do any additional seasoning to mine. I cooked meats in it - especially bacon to help season it. I used oil or butter to cook food with at first. Now that I've had it for a year or so, it's totally awesome! I rarely use oil anymore, and stuff comes right off when I wash it. I never use soap to wash it - only hot water and steel wool pad or something similar. Always dry it immediately or rust will form on it. I would then wipe a small amount of oil around the bottom and sides (with a paper towel) after I dried it, and would put it away. Now I don't put the oil layer on it after washing unless it is looking "dried out".

OKKiddo
04-30-2014, 07:02 PM
Here's a good tutorial and one of my favorite places for recipes. http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com/blog/?p=1982

Also, this guy on youtube is a man who loves his cast iron. I think he has a problem. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6Tz3HnnCFs

Indianamom2
04-30-2014, 08:33 PM
Thank you both. I will check into the resources you gave OkKiddo. I had planned to cook bacon in it as one of my first things because I thought that would probably be a good thing to start with. Good to know that after a year or so you still love it, lhafer!

OKKiddo
04-30-2014, 08:40 PM