PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about running

KLD313
05-25-2014, 05:35 PM
Actually it will probably be mostly walking and some jogging. I want to try couch to 5K. I got running shoes today. What do I wear? I'm a 38DD and fat thru the middle, I get hot easily and don't know what to wear. What else do I need to know?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chitowngirl
05-26-2014, 03:40 AM
I used to be in good shape but lost it all with the pregnancy/baby. I just started running again and my DS is 18 months old. For me it was like starting from scratch and I did a c25k program. Starting slowly really worked well for me. I am now consistently running 3 miles, but it is still not "fun" for me or "easy". I am hoping with time and improved physical conditioning it gets easier. All that is to say I am no running expert. I am always shocked and impressed by the running threads where people say things like "running a 10k is my favorite distance - I only do marathons twice a year."

I would definitely say invest in a good sports bra that fits well. I have a nike one and an athleta one that fit great. I also have a Columbia one and a target one that do not. They all seemed ok in the store, but when I run I can definitely tell the difference in my "bounciness"/comfort.

It's been unseasonable cold in chicago which is terrible in all things except that it's been great running weather. I like running in the mid 60s best. Unlike you I tend to be cold so I run in long sleeves - especially if it's low 60s or cooler. If it's warmer I wear a tank top under my long sleeved shirt and just take the long sleeves off if I get hot. I try to wear wicking clothes specifically for exercising and not just any old tank top. I tend to run in yoga pants, but if you get hot you may want sonething else. The thing I liked about the c25k program is they start you off pretty slowly so it gives you a chance to see what works and modify what doesn't.