PDA

View Full Version : To get a meal plan? And if not, food / meal ideas?

magnoliaparadise
02-08-2015, 01:48 PM
Hi,

We are going to Disney very soon.
We still haven't decided whether to do a meal plan. We need to decide before we leave or lose that option.

Would you give me your views? I am totally new at this and a bit overwhelmed!

There will be 3 adults (myself and my parents) and 2 kids (3 and 7). We are under one room (ie one reservation) so can't split our group or number of days. So if if we get the meal plan, it will be all 5 of us, all 7 days, no options to decrease that.

We are going 'club' level on Disney so have no kitchenette, but a small fridge in our room and access to a shared microwave in club area. (Villas were all sold out by the time we signed up, but my parents wanted to stay on Disney property).

Pros of a meal plan:
- we won't have to worry about eating and paying out of pocket;
- we might save some money

Cons of a meal plan:
- we may not use every meal, so it might turn out to be more expensive than just going to eat whenever we want;
- my parents won't be with us for one day anyway, so we will lose those meals. Also, they are going off Disney so will bring us back food!
- because we are doing the club level at the hotel, we have a continental (cold) breakfast and fruits and snacks all day long there. There will also be snacks midday (cookies, chips, veggies or cheese) and hot item appetizers in the early evening and assorted desserts in the later evening.

**** Would you do a meal plan or no in my shoes?
**** Also, if you wouldn't, and had no kitchen, what would you suggest I do for the kids? I could bring stuff to put in the microwave like meatballs, etc?

Thanks!
Just in case this is helpful, here are meal plan costs (with our info):

1. Quick Service Dining
2 quick service meals and 1 snack each day
A quick service meal is a counter service (you go to front of restaurant and place your order and get your food)