PDA

View Full Version : I'm terrified- am I being paranoid about this?

gatorsmom
03-09-2016, 01:33 AM
Admittedly, I don't like the ocean. I grew up in Wisconsin so I have very little experience with the ocean and it scares me. I'll also admit that I'm a relatively fearful person anyway. So my family is in Cancun on vacation at Club med. The beach here is beautiful and it's pretty shallow out for quite a long ways into the ocean. Dh dives right in. He immediately starts body surfing. My oldest 2 kids who are good swimmer follow suit. He thinks because he vacationed a few times as a kid and did this in California that it's fine. He even yelled at me that our twins should be allowed to do this. All I can see is that the waves are strong and big. The kids are frequently knocked over. I'm on the beach watching the 4 kids follow their dad who is joking that mom's going to have a heart attack over some silly waves. There were flags on the beach but I don't know what they mean and neither does DH. I know enough about water from growing up on the Mississippi to know that there can be powerful tides and you have to be careful. I'm thinking all this while DH continues to throw himself in time after time and let the waves roll him back up to the beach. I tried talking to the lifeguards who were very attentive but they only spoke Spanish.

Please tell me Im just being paranoid. Should I have insisted the kids wear life jackets? I brought them with us. All my kids swim well in our backyard, in ground pool but this is different. Are there riptides? How would I know that? What do the flags mean? How would you proceed with letting your kids play at the beach? Limit them to a certain amount of time in the water? Tell them no body surfing?