PDA

View Full Version : Is it unreasonable to tell my eye doctor that I want to purchase contacts elsewhere?

JustMe
03-12-2016, 01:15 PM
My eye doctor is great. My daughter and I both have some vision issues and he has helped us both. He came with great recommendations and has lived up to them. I have been using him for several years now.

I have contacts and dd has had glasses, but is ready for contacts now. Neither of us have contacts covered under our insurance. With me at least, my eye dr does a lot to find the best contact for me. In addition to the usual, when he narrows it down to 2-3 pairs, he gets samples of both and has me try them for a week or so. This has been great.

So, what I have done is order 6 months from him and get the next 6 months from Costco as I havent felt like I could tell him I don't want to purchase from him after he does the whole sample thing. Now with dd getting contacts too I would really like to purchase contacts for both or us from Costco (or if anyone knows of anyplace cheaper from there) from the beginning.

Would you tell your eye dr this? Or am I stuck paying for the contacts for both of us for the first 6 months. I believe mine are at least double in price from what I pay at Costco.

TwinFoxes
03-12-2016, 01:27 PM
I would be up front with him. He may come down in price. Or he may not give you all the extras, like free samples. Or nothing may change at all.

I think it would be crappy to let him do all the extras, and then say "we're buying elsewhere."

kep
03-12-2016, 01:27 PM
I would just be upfront, and say something like, "I would like to get my contact prescription from you, if I could. My insurance does not cover them, and I need to purchase them somewhere that better fits my budget."

I think most eye doctors give out prescriptions all the time, for various reasons. I know it feels awkward, but I would just be straight with him from the beginning.

squimp
03-12-2016, 02:12 PM